Young and Free in NYC


#TaniaOnTheScene - It’s no secret that New York City is a great place for families. But all that exploring can cost you a pretty penny—unless you know where to look. You won’t have to wander far to find museums with free-admission days, gratis concerts and stage productions, complimentary story sessions with top children’s book authors and exciting events that let you leave your wallet tucked happily away. Forget staying at home to save money. 

It’s your one-stop-shop to get a list of the best free ways for young New Yorkers (and young visitors) to get out on the town.

Read More

ART, Sunset cocktails and FREE Live Jazz


#TaniaOnTheScene - Bring friends, relax and enjoy the some live jazz (6:30pm - 9:30pm) in NYC at the city’s swankiest rooftop.

Happy hour: (until 8pm).

$5/$6 Domestic/Imported Beers,

$8 Well drinks & Select Wines,

$10 cosmos.

All guests must be age 21+ with valid ID. No exceptions

Read More

Boxer and symbol of racial injustice, Rubin “Hurricane” Carter, dead at 76 


#TaniaOnTheScene - Rubin “Hurricane” Carter, the boxer whose wrongful murder conviction became an international symbol of racial injustice, has died at 76.

A longtime friend and caregiver, John Artis, says Carter died in his sleep today. Carter had been stricken with prostate cancer in Toronto, the New Jersey native’s adopted home.

Carter spent 19 years in prison for three murders at a tavern in Paterson, N.J., in 1966. He was convicted alongside Artis in 1967 and again in a new trial in 1976.

Read More

60 Bars and Restaurants to Particpate in 9-Day Beer Event


#TaniaOnTheScene - In Queens, raise your glass because beer week starts today.

Breweries and bars across the borough are gearing up for the 9-day booze fest.

Beer lovers can visit more than 60 bars and restaurants for a nice cold one.

And because the only thing Queens loves more than beer is chocolate, each venue will also have chocolate tastings.

The event’s official kick-off bash is at “Single-Cut Beer-Smiths” in Astoria.

Read More

Sneak Peek at Some of the Coolest Rides in Town: The New York International Auto Show


#TaniaOnTheScene - The New York International Auto Show is open to the public April 18-27.

However, Tania is on the scene giving you a sneak peek of what to expect.

Take a look at some of the high-end rides, concept cars, and outdoor exclusive fun you can have at the event.

Read More

Valerie Harper gives an important update to her fans

#TaniaOnTheScene - While in New York to promote her two episode story arc on Hallmark Channel’s new Original Series, SIGNED, SEALED, DELIVERED, Valerie Harper had to confront a startling magazine headline declaring that she is cancer free.  The erroneous headline is speeding through entertainment news so much so that Ms. Harper is currently trending on Twitter.

Hallmark Channel has obtained a statement for all media uses from the iconic TV star that she wishes to make available to correct the news.  Here it is:

"In response to a recent erroneous quote concerning my health, I am not ‘absolutely cancer-free.’  I wish I were.  Right now what I am is cautiously optimistic about my present condition and I have hope for the future,” Valerie Harper.

Read More

Fitness Magazine’s May 2014 cover star: Serena Williams revelas her softer side

#TaniaOnTheScene - Serena Williams is on the May 2014 cover of FITNESS, hitting newsstands on 4/22 and talks about the real Serena, embracing her curves and her no regrets policy.

“It’s all about loving who you are and realizing that you’re beautiful”

Read More